Court Information Release



United States District Court Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Release Date: Contact: Joel Daly

May 18, 2012 (312) 435-5693 (phone)

(312) 554-8239 (fax) joel daly@ilnd.uscourts.gov

Thirteenth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service

CHICAGO – The United States District Court's Thirteenth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service is scheduled to begin at 3:00 p.m., Friday, May 18, 2012, in the James Benton Parsons Memorial Courtroom (2525) of the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse at 219 South Dearborn Street in Chicago, Illinois. The program is open to all attorneys and those interested in pro bono and public interest law, and is free of charge.

Fern C. Bomchill, the National President of the Federal Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker at the May 18th awards ceremony recognizing pro bono and public interest service before the court. This annual ceremony is sponsored jointly by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

Ms. Bomchill is a partner in the Chicago office of the law firm of Mayer Brown. She has been associated with the law firm since her graduation from the University of Chicago Law School in 1972. Ms. Bomchill has concentrated on litigation, primarily in the federal courts, in a variety of substantive areas.

She has been a member of the FBA for over 15 years. She was an active member of her local FBA chapter for several years before undertaking the chapter office positions of treasurer, secretary, vice president, and president. During these years, she has worked with the federal judiciary on a variety of issues—related and unrelated to the FBA. Fern is a Life Fellow of the Foundation of the Federal Bar Association.

On May 18th, twenty-nine "Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono Service" and one "Award for Excellence in Public Interest Service" will be presented to area attorneys for their contributions in helping people most in need of assistance before the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

Award winners include: Steven P. Blonder of Much Shelist P.C.; William Choslovsky, of Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP; John Grossbart of SNR Denton; Dave W. Clark, of David W. Clark, P.C.; Jeffrey G. Close of Chapman and Cutler, LLP and Cathleen M. Combs of Edelman, Combs, Latturner & Goodwin, LLC; Gilberto E. Espinoza of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP; Michael S. Hedrick of The Law Offices of Michael S. Hedrick; Matthew T. Heffner of Susman Heffner & Hurst; Paul E. Danielson and Ramji Kaul of SNR Denton, and Blaine Kimrey, Terance A. Gonsalves and Samuel Linsenmaier, formerly of SNR Denton, and Jean MacLean Snyder of the Law Offices of Jean MacLean Snyder; Stephen D. Libowsky of SNR Denton; Craig C. Martin, David Jiménez-Ekman, Joseph R. Dunn and Kristin L. Rakowski of Jenner & Block LLP; Jennifer N. Purcell formerly of Trent & Butcher; Timothy K. Sendek and Michael B. Raines of Dykema Gossett PLLC; Alison Siegler of the University of Chicago, Edwin F. Mandel Legal Aid Clinic; Catherine Simmons-Gill of Catherine Simmons-Gill, LLC; Peter R. Sonderby of Ulmer Berne LLP; Giel Stein, formerly of Winston & Strawn LLP; Douglas M. Werman of Werman Law Office P.C.; Richard M. Wheelock of the Legal Assistance Foundation of Metropolitan Chicago; and Richard F. O'Malley, Jr. of Sidley Austin LLP.

The awards program will also feature written comments and introductions by **Chief Judge James F. Holderman** and **James D. Wascher**, President of the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. **Joel Daly**, District Court Information Officer, will emcee the ceremony.